POUR IT UP, POUR IT UP: four oils, reviewed

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset
I like to think that I was onto the whole oil cleansing thing before it was really a thing. The romans used olive oil to get rid of muck and it just seems obvious to use something greasy to efficiently remove stuff like waterproof mascara, right? I’ve recently picked up a few more additions to my beauty arsenal, and found that not all oils are made equal:

1. Extra virgin olive oil /// I’ve been using this for years. It’s affordable, fragrant, and seriously versatile. When I’m not frying eggs in it (free radicals, what free radicals?!), or drizzling it over salad, it makes an excellent moisturiser even for the scaliest skin, and feels incredibly nourishing. I mix it with salt for an exfoliating scrub before showers, and as an alternative to shaving cream. Even when I forget to use lotion afterwards, my skin remains soft and supple. The only downside that I can think of is that it stays greasy for a long time if applied in excess, and I suspect that’s why dry oils are becoming so popular.

2. Nuxe Huile Prodigieuse 50ml, £17 /// By far the priciest on my list, and it feels indulgent just to use. I’d been umm-ing and ahh-ing about it for a while until I saw The Sunday Girl’s post, and picked it up the next chance I got. This dry multi-purpose oil can be used on the body, face, and hair and smells beautiful. It’s too expensive to use as an everyday body moisturiser, but it adds a lovely sheen to freshly tanned limbs, and even comes in a shimmer formula for those looking for extra shine.

3. L’Oréal Extraordinary Oil Cleansing Oil 150ml, £3.55 /// First off, let me just express my mild irritation that it is half price online compared to what I paid instore. Secondly, I’m not particularly impressed with this in general. The fragrance smells really artificial (think fake watermelons) and it doesn’t really offer anything new. The instructions are to rub 2-3 drops onto the face using fingers, then rinsing with water. This is what I had been doing with olive oil, and considering that this product doesn’t smell particularly nice, I think I’ll stick with the extra virgin, or L’Oréal’s refreshing micellar water.

4. Neutrogena Norwegian Formula Body Oil 250ml, £8 /// I think this could be described as like a Nuxe-lite? Though you get far more for your money, the fragrance is somewhat similar, but less nutty and more crisp. I’ve been using this as an all over body oil before I go to sleep and it’s great for restoring any hydration that’s lost throughout the day. It’s also not as dry as Nuxe so it spreads further on the skin, making it even better value. I’d definitely re-purchase this one.

I feel like I should be making forays into the world of coconut oil at some point…

– Niko

Leave a Reply

