MY EVERYDAY FACE: a foundation-free contour

wpid-wp-1444925430052.jpgFIRSTLY! I’ve missed two days of posting – sorry about that, cold + house moving + daily commuting = tired, tired, tired.

Now, to the actual article…

I’m not a huge fan of foundation. The heaviest full coverage I’ll go for is a BB cream, but considering I rarely have any major blemishes to cover, I try just to make the best with what I’ve got going naturally. Right now my main focus is emphasising what remains of my summer tan while gradually accepting my wintery pallor. To this I’m doing a light contour which really helps give a healthy glow, without heading into orange fake tan territory. Here’s what I do:

After letting my moisturiser sink into clean skin (about 10 mins), I use YSL’s Touche Éclat to paint a triangle under each eye, a stripe down the middle of my nose, then highlight the middle of my forehead, cupid’s bow, and chin. I then take the bronzer pencil from Kiko’s contouring pencil set and shade the sides of my nose, the hollow of my cheeks, and my temples. I look really attractive at this point:
wpid-wp-1444925445656.jpg
Using this sponge from Kiko, I use dabbing motions on the touche éclat and sweeping motions on the bronzer until they’re both blended into my skin. I then add a sweep of no7’s bronzing pearls over my cheekbones, nose and forehead, anywhere that would naturally catch the sun. After this, a light dusting of Topshop’s highlighter goes back over my cheekbones and the top of my forehead, just to add a bit of dimension and dewy shine. I finish with a bit of Topshop’s cream blush in Head Over Heels on the apples of my cheeks, then fill in my eyebrows with an Estée Lauder eyeshadow in Mink (sadly discontinued) on an angled brush and a bit of Catrice Eyebrow Fixing Gel (also discontinued 😦 )to create a bit more thickness.

wpid-wp-1444925440435.jpg
Ta-dah!

This is a great base for most looks, as it’s neutral enough to not interfere with bolder products, and you can easier go heavier on, say, highlighter or blush if you wanted to create a more directional look. I was always a bit suspicious when I was told to highlight my chin, but the amount of photos which came out with me looking like I had a 5 o’clock shadow have shown me how important it is when there’s going to be flash photography!

– Niko

Leave a Reply

