Looking back

wp-1451590434483.jpg

Hello, it’s me
I was wondering if after all these years you’d like to meet

It’s been a while. Like I mentioned before, I’ve been working through December, and I thought I was busy during term time! I didn’t want to spam everyone with wishlists and gift guide nonsense because really I’d like this blog to have a bit of integrity and I’m feeling a bit disillusioned with buying and buying. Retail does that to you. What better time to start writing again, then, than New Year’s Eve? I’ll be spending tonight revising and drinking Babycham, plus I’m a little bit upset because I ordered like £20 worth of sushi and my order was cancelled because the restaurant decided not to be open, ugh.

Anyway, I thought I’d write a little post summing up some things I’ve been thinking about recently.

1. Patience. I’m going to sound like a middle-aged Facebook drama queen, but I’m learning that I really don’t need to waste my time on people who don’t dring any value to my life. I feel like I’ve spent a lot of my life being very patient, assuming the best of people to then be let down, and letting them take advantage of me, and now I don’t really have the time for it. Perhaps it’s Marie Kondo’s influence, but if someone doesn’t spark joy, I have to discard the, so to speak. It sounds harsh, I know, but I meet so many people that it makes no sense for me to be wasting energy on the ones that don’t enrich my life in any way.

2. Myself. I feel as though I’ve really been able to learn a lot about myself this year, about how I cope under pressure or in new environments, and what I genuinely value in life. I feel much more empowered than I did last year and I definitely give far fewer shits about things that don’t matter. Going forth, I’m going to continue to challenge and push myself to achieve to the best of my ability, and squeeze everything out of every oppotunity that I’m faced with.

3. Dreams. Continuing from that last point, I have a much clearer idea in my mind of where I want to be in five years, and what I need to do to get there. When I look back, I’m quite proud of what I’ve done to get to where I am at the moment, and even though not everything went to plan, I’m happy here and in the direction I’m going.

4. Instagram. Humblebragging here, and the shortest bullet of all, but my Instagram has got a pretty strong theme going on right now which I’m pretty proud of. So glad I went back to using my favourite filter.

Those are the key points for me, really. I don’t want to give too much away right now because I also want to write a post about resolutions to be published on New Year’s Day.

Have you made any great realisations this year? Self discoveries?

Happy New Year!

– Niko

Leave a Reply

