Looking Forward

wp-1451654816326.jpgI don’t really like to give myself New Year’s Resolutions, the timing feels a bit arbitrary and often people are too optimistic. What I always do though, is try to watch 100 films that I’ve never seen before each year. I’m usually good at this, but for some reason I forgot to make a note of what I’d seen in 2015, so I don’t know whether or not I reached my target. I’ll be keeping a record for 2016, though.

This year, instead of making promises to myself that I could never keep, I want to look at the things I’m improving on, and make an effort to keep on in the right direction. For me those things are:

1. Money.Β 2015 was an expensive year for multiple (sometimes unavoidable) reasons, and I spent far too long on the brink of my overdraft limit. I’ve decided to keep a record of what I’m spending, so I can better budget my life, and start putting money aside in my savings account again, which unfortunately I had to empty last year.

2. Exercise. I actually do a fair amount of walking in my day-to-day life, but I took up running a couple of months ago. It’s refreshing to do some cardio from time to time, and I’m mostly concerned with fixing my tight calf muscles, especially in winter when most of the time I’m wearing heeled boots. I want to get to a place where my legs don’t ache after a jog, and it becomes a regular part of my routine.

3. Studies.Β I want to make a more dedicated effort to my education. Not that I wasn’t trying before, but I had far more 4am library sessions than anyone should be doing, and I want to stay on top of my workload, which last year felt a bit like spinning plates. My action plan here is basically just to be more organised, and maybe stay on campus rather than going straight home after a lecture. That way, I don’t have to make a long journey to the library from home if there’s anything I need.

4. Personal life. I’ve decided that I don’t want to be in a relationship until I move back to Florence permanently, so I’m not making any resolutions in that department, plus, it’ll give me more time to focus on my degree, which I’m enjoying a lot right now. I would, however, like to make more of an effort to maintain the friendships with the people I value, because it’s such a shame when you drift from the people you love.

That’s it, really. Nothing radical, no great, sweeping changes, no Eat, Pray, Love. I think that making small steps towards the vision I have of what I’d like to be. It’s better this way.

Have you set yourself any goals this year? Did you achieve what you wanted to last year?

– Niko

Leave a Reply

